To Read and not To-Read

So my first “real” (i.e., not merely introductory) blog entry is,
Perhaps aptly,
About books and reading.

When I was younger, I was a fairly
Avid reader.
While I’d like to still count reading
As an interest of mine,
The reality is that I no longer have the
Time and/or the
Energy to
Read
After work, and studies, and everything.
(Have you ever gotten that feeling where, when you get home at the end of the day, you just don’t want
To think anymore? Yeah, that.)

But I can’t (shouldn’t / mustn’t) do that anymore. Because when I leave for Masters, I can’t exactly pack all those
Books-I-keep-saying-I-will-read-but-haven’t-yet (let’s save the ebook discussion for another time, yeah?).

In other words, I have about
Six months
To go through all those books I want to read before I go—and yes,
That means prioritizing.

But that’s not all! Even now (or to be honest, I’ve known since half a year ago), I
Already have a list of readings I need to read
In preparation for my Masters which,
Can I just say that this is a challenge for me? Reading
Fiction books is one thing, but for some reason,
Non-fiction, particularly if it’s
Required reading,
Puts me straight to bed. -___- Does anyone have
Any tips to solve this problem? Haha.

Yet, a challenge that matters to me is often a challenge I am
Determined to win—
For me, more than for anyone else.
I just hope this determination and motivation last. But most of all, I hope
To rediscover the “avid reader” in me, the one who
Enjoys the very act of reading, and who seems to have
Taken a very long nap while I was busy being busy. That said,

The (Goodreads) Challenge of 2016
(Which I hope to complete in these six months):

25 Books, including

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak
The Dovekeepers, by Alice Hoffman
Three Cups of Tea, by Greg Mortenson
The Faith Club, by Ranya Tabari Idliby
When Islam and Democracy Meet, by Jocelyne Cesari

The Scarlet Contessa, by Jeanne Kalogridis
Princesses Behaving Badly, by Linda Rodriguez McRobbie

Fairest, by Marissa Meyer
Winter, by Marissa Meyer

Contending Theories of International Relations, by J. Dougherty
Theory of International Politics, by K. Waltz
International Politics, by R. Art and R. Jervis
Varieties of Capitalism, by P. Hall
Comparative Democratic Politics, by H. Keman
Continuity and Change in Contemporary Capitalism, by H. Kitschelt

And then some.

So, here’s to a very book-filled New Year!

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Dominique has
read 0 books toward her goal of 25 books.
hide

P.S. Although I still have a lot of books on my shelf (besides these) to go through, I’m always open to more book recommendations. Have a suggestion to make? 😉

Leave a Reply

